# KENDALL COUNTY BOARD REORGANIZATIONAL MEETING DECEMBER 7, 2020

STATE OF ILLINOIS	)
COUNTY OF KENDALL	)SS )

The Kendall County Board Special Meeting was held at the Kendall County Historic Courthouse in the City of Yorkville on Monday, December 7, 2020 at 6:00 p.m.

## **INTRODUCTIONS**

County Clerk, Debbie Gillette welcomed everyone. She called upon Mr. Prochaska for an invocation for the evening.

## **PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE**

### **SWEARING IN OF ELECTED OFFICIALS**

Hon. Robert Pilmer swore in the following before they took office on December 1, 2020; State's Attorney Eric Weis, Coroner Jacquie Purcell and Circuit Clerk Matthew Prochaska.

# **SWEARING IN OF COUNTY BOARD MEMBERS**

Hon. Robert Pilmer swore in the following County Board members: Mr. Dan Koukol, Mr. Matthew Kellogg, Ms. Elizabeth Flowers, and Mr. Brian DeBolt.

### **ROLL CALL**

The County Clerk called the roll. Members present: Amy Cesich, Brian DeBolt, Elizabeth Flowers, Scott Gengler, Judy Gilmour, Scott Gryder, Matt Kellogg, Dan Koukol and Robyn Vickers.

The County Clerk reported that a quorum was present.

# **SPECIAL MODERATOR**

The County Clerk will be the Special Moderator for the elections and appointment.

County Clerk Gillette stated that the County Board's Rules of Order do not specify a specific method for nominations for each office. A motion that all the nominations for the offices to be voted upon tonight will be made from the floor would be entertained.

Member Kellogg moved to approve that the nominations for the offices would be made from the floor. Member Gryder seconded the motion. Clerk Gillette asked for a voice vote on the motion. All members present voting aye. **Motion carried.** 

### **ELECTION OF COUNTY BOARD CHAIRMAN**

The Clerk opened the floor for nominations for the office of County Board Chairman.

Member Kellogg nominated Scott Gryder. Member DeBolt seconded the nomination.

Member Kellogg closed the nominations for the office of County Board Chairman. Member Koukol seconded the motion.

The Clerk then called the roll for Scott Gryder for the position of County Board Chairman. Motion carried 9-0.

# **ELECTION OF COUNTY BOARD VICE-CHAIRMAN**

The Clerk opened the floor for nominations for the office of County Board Vice Chairman.

Member Flowers nominated Amy Cesich. Member Vlckers seconded the nomination.

Member Koukol nominated Matthew Kellogg. Member DeBolt seconded the nomination.

The Clerk then called the roll for Amy Cesich for the position of County Board Vice Chairman. Members voting aye include Cesich Flowers, Gilmour and Vickers. Members voting nay include DeBolt, Gengler, Gryder, Kellogg, and Koukol. **Motion failed 4-5**.

The Clerk then called the roll for Matthew Kellogg for the position of County Board Vice Chairman. Members voting aye include DeBolt, Gengler, Gilmour, Gryder, Kellogg, and Koukol. Members voting nay include Cesich Flowers, and Vickers. **Motion carried 6-3**.

## **ELECTION OF FOREST PRESERVE PRESIDENT**

The Clerk opened the floor for nominations for the office of Forest Preserve President.

Member Flowers nominated Judy Gilmour. Member Cesich seconded the nomination.

The Clerk then called the roll for Judy Gilmour for the position of Forest Preserve President. Motion carried 9-0.

# **ELECTION OF FOREST PRESERVE VICE-PRESIDENT**

The Clerk opened the floor for nominations for the office of Forest Preserve Vice President.

Member Kellogg nominated Scott Gengler. Member Gilmour seconded the nomination.

The Clerk then called the roll for Scott Gengler for the position of Forest Preserve Vice President. Motion carried 9-0.

# **ELECTION OF FOREST PRESERVE SECRETARY**

The Clerk stated that on June 20, 2017 the Forest Preserve Commission approved Resolution 17-06-003 the approval of the rules of order in which the Secretary has become an appointed position. The President as soon as possible after assuming office shall appoint with the advice and consent of the commission by a majority affirmative vote of those present.

### APPOINTMENT OF FOREST PRESERVE TREASURER

Member Gilmour made motion to appoint the County Treasurer as the Forest Preserve Treasurer. Member Vickers seconded the motion.

The Clerk called the roll on the motion. Motion carried 9-0.

### **CHAIRMAN'S COMMENTS**

Chairman Gryder congratulated the newly elected. Mr. Gryder noted that today is Pearl Harbor Day. Kendall County will be celebrating 180 years in 2021. Mr. Gryder asks that members come from the right place and do their best.

## **ADJOURNMENT**

Member Gilmour moved to adjourn. Member Koukol seconded the motion. Chairman Gryder asked for a voice vote on the motion. All members present voting aye. **Motion carried.** 

Respectfully submitted by Debbie Gillette County Clerk