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Kendall County Sheriff’s Office Reminds of New Tobacco Law 

The Kendall County Sheriff’s Office would like to remind the public of the new law that took 

effect on July 01, 2019. The new law prohibits the sale or furnishing of tobacco products, 

electronic cigarettes, or alternative nicotine products to a person under 21 years of age. The law 

also prohibits the purchase of tobacco products, electronic cigarettes, or alternative nicotine 

products by a person under 21 years of age. The law made changes regarding definitions, age 

verification, penalties, possession, and other matters.  

In addition to prohibiting the sale and sample distribution of tobacco products, e-cigarettes, and 

alternative nicotine products to individuals under age 21, the law: 

 Requires tobacco and e-cigarette retailers to update all posted signage required by Illinois 

law with the minimum sales age of 21 for tobacco products, tobacco accessories, 

alternative nicotine products, e-cigarettes, and e-liquids and solutions, regardless of 

whether they contain nicotine. 

 Requires tobacco and e-cigarette retailers to update age verification training programs for 

employees. 

 Specifies age verification requirements for retailers, requiring a person who appears to be 

under the age of 30 to show government-issued photo identification. 

 Clarifies penalties against retailers for violation of sales provisions - in a 24-month 

period, 1st offense - $200; 2nd offense - $400; 3rd offense - $600; 4th or subsequent 

offense - $800. 

National data indicates about 95% of adult smokers begin smoking before they turn 21. 

According to a study from the National Academy of Medicine, Tobacco 21 policies could reduce 
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overall smoking by 12% by the time today’s teenagers become adults. The biggest decrease in 

tobacco use could be among youth ages 15-17 (25%) and 18-20 (15%)
i
. 

Smoking-related health care costs in the U.S. are estimated at almost $5.5 billion annually, with 

another $5.3 billion lost due to smoking-related losses in productivity
ii
. 

For more information please click on the link below: 

http://www.ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/ilcs3.asp?ActID=1962 

We request and recommend businesses read the full statute provided on the link 

http://www.ilga.gov/legislation/publicacts/101/101-0002.htm, so they are in compliance with the law that 

took in effect on July 1st, 2019. 

 

 

   

                                                           
i
 National Academy of Medicine, 

http://www.nationalacademies.org/hmd/Reports/2015/TobaccoMinimumAgeReport.aspx.  
ii
 Illinois Department of Public Health, http://dph.illinois.gov/news/age-buy-tobacco-now-21.  
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https://l.facebook.com/l.php?u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.ilga.gov%2Flegislation%2Fpublicacts%2F101%2F101-0002.htm&h=AT0k37m32bGMUch1Q8BkOFxGD0AAzOHgJjxL9j7aF0R45fiO8d99zsfYrof_6N-_rhQW3wPQnMqm0_48cCO02Ql8iLMCPdBOZdPSg7-c67zXvEhANw8f0ynquSTMUvNlnJWSHd8ChTf-y0cByeOBh9RNygn6-Px7RY9JV-TGqH2VA3hOhU4NhKDD5Szldo7Qw-ttF0zpUEYl6qKr6_Odyw9stANr4VxxFmc1q0dC-O6jjYOiSAMhkb7TzCM2Ql9o4_ol-KrK6CxIxPHdlLlas5tBTtnBbq8A9W4WKWCd2hFNUtVDteeuHckkKvdE7TF1Hk-kY4-LDuATiC0A_BDA3iRN_pT4C8TjLqpEg6F_HuCxAmDHNJzhd5Dtla-XC3mucb5wueaGI8aHkmfMm3qyYvoZ3QadFWXUhAWUxbJoTXEqMdNCiIZII5kQWCTLrEZ3xWraJVxI7fCfi9bnl_Vl3D-HxxnJGqfevQ_O-cvzLJlHMOJq2WmhtCc1NX0kSyAYa0_x8a8GUEaXNyjaEeCjHYiAOutmoJyp891ARtrgXSEVpVNfkxFXBO0U4KolODpabZqpv5vYfipR4qqIx7p3ejtskWMrA5-zmQPvPrDuheQdYKUPPuIvFWhDtnOJ-Lb4mMewiuIzicz7Te1TdHjspkIcNsY
http://www.nationalacademies.org/hmd/Reports/2015/TobaccoMinimumAgeReport.aspx
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